Kent Masters Cross Country Championships, Dartford – Sunday, 1st December 2018

The Kent Masters Cross-country Championships was held at Dartford on Saturday 1st December included a very strong entry at all age-groups from Medway & Maidstone A C. The wet and slippery conditions resulted in a tricky course in places and much slower times than last year’s race on the same course.

The most successful age group for the club was in the men’s M50 – M59 9 Km race, were the club improved on last year’s silver by taking team gold. The club’s winning 3-to-score team was led by Richard Tomlinson who took the individual silver, just missing out on gold by 13 seconds (33.30). Barry Royden in 6th (35.13) and Gareth Williams in 7th (35.43) completed the scoring team positions. Further back-up was provided by Alun Rodgers (24th 37.42), Richard Kerswill, in his first championship race, (32nd 39.19) and Bob Fursey M55 (39th 39.41). The race was won by former British Masters winner and International, Ben Reynolds, leading Tonbridge AC to team silver.

In the M40-M49 9 Km race, the club repeated last year’s success by taking the team silver position. Noel Sutton M45, running in his first race for the club as a first claim runner, finished in 4th place missing out on an individual medal by just 15 seconds (32.18). The 4-to-score team was completed by Lee McMeekin M45 (9th 33.19), Neill Wright (18th 34.45) and Adam Featherstone M45 (26th 36.09). Justin Lane was close behind (31st 36.55) with Stephen McGlynn (46th 38.53) and Darren Wright (47th 38.54) completing the team’s finishing positions. Kent AC took team gold with Alex Gibbons of Blackheath & Bromley AC taking individual gold (31.39).

In the M60-M69 5 Km race, the club only had 2 runners, Ivon Whitmore M65 (33rd 24.56) and Steve Hesketh M65 (40th 25.56). In the M70 –M79 5 Km race, Phil Wallace took individual silver (23.31). John Rains (M75) was 16th (35.31).

In the women’s W35-W44 5 Km race, the club repeated last year’s 5th team place in a very close result, with just 5 points separating 3rd to 5th places. Jenny Fowler W40 was first home for the club in 10th (21.14), followed by Rachael Stewart W40 (17th 22.52) and Claire Wilkins (18th 23.05). and Amy Clements of Kent A C won the race leading her club to team gold.

Mo Fazakerley W50 was the only club competitor in the W45 -54 5 Km race (19th 23.33). Clare Elms took the individual gold with Tonbridge AC taking team gold.