Kent Masters Cross Country Championships, Dartford – 30 November 2019

The Kent Masters Cross-country Championships were held at Dartford last week-end. The races, for men and women over 40, are very hotly contested by the many of the top runners in the county.

In the M40 9.3 km race, Medway & Maidstone A C took the silver team prize, Kent A C taking gold. Anthony Webb of Medway Phoenix was 1st overall, with Neill Phillips of Kent AC and Andy Bond of Dulwich taking silver and bronze respectively.  Medway’s first runner home was Justin Lane in 9th, closely followed by Neill Wright (12th), Stephen Turpie (16th) and Adam Featherstone 23rd. Darren Wright in 49th closed the team.

The club went one better in the M50 race taking the gold medal team prize.  The team was made up of Barry Royden, who took individual bronze, Gareth Williams 6th and Alun Rodgers in 10th. Tonbridge AC took silver, with the same points, but a higher 3rd placed runner.  Bob Fursey closed the team in 39th.  The race was won by previous British Masters Champion Ben Reynolds.

In the M70 race, Phil Wallace ran well to finish in 5th place.

There were only 4 lady competitors competing over the 5.4 km course. They collected a well deserved silver team medal due to the strong performances on the day. The ladies W35s team saw a well deserved silver team medal for Taryne McPherson, Jenny Fowler and Vanessa Vander (10th, 11th and 23rd ). The only competitor in the W45 age category was Bernadette Harrop finishing in 29th place.