Larkfield 10k, Sunday 15th September 2019

For the 2nd year running, the Larkfield 10 Km road race was particularly important this year as it was not only included as part of the Kent Grand Prix Road Race Series, but was also used as the Kent County Short Course Road Championships.

Medway & Maidstone AC had a very strong presence once again, claiming many of the awards in the men’s race as well as many PBs. The club retained the County Short Course (10 km) Championship Senior gold team trophy as well as the M40 Team gold award. The Senior team was led by Marley Godden in 4th (PB 33.21), Ben Tyler 5th (34.19) and Tom Collins 6th (34.21). Neil Wright in 11th not only led in the M40 team, but also claimed individual M40 gold and a PB (35.21). The M40 winning team was completed by Justin Lane 14th (PB 35.30) and Stephen Turpie 25th (36.44).

There were also some good runs behind the team medal winners. Adam Featherstone with a PB (38.47) in 45th was closely followed by Daniel McGlynn in 46th (38.56), Owen Featherstone (PB 39.28) and Stephen McGlynn (PB 40.20). 

Emily Hale was the first women team finisher, 69th overall and 7th women with a great PB (40.57). Bob Fursey (M55) was 78th (41.49), followed by the club’s 2nd women finisher, Taryne McPherson (44.51) who was 118th overall and 17th women and Catherine Rodwell in 260th overall with a massive 4 minute PB 53.04.

Apart from the obvious success in the County Road Race Championships, the above results will make a very positive improvement to the club’s position in the Kent Road Race Grand Prix Series. The last race in this series takes place on the 13th October with the Maidstone half-marathon.